Connecting Beer Engines To Kegs

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gap

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to this forum. I have been brewing AG for about 10 years, mainly English Ales and occassionally Stouts.
I have decided to start kegging my beer and have purchased 2 beer engines.
I am looking for help and advice on the best way to connect the beer engines to corny kegs . The beer engines use 1/2" beer lines. Do I need special disconnects to attach the beer line to the keg. Also any suggestions on a source of cask aspirators.

Regards

Welcome to the forum, gap
I have found that a half inch to 6mm reducer is necessary to get the beer from keg to beer engine, worst comes to it, just get some plastic attachments from the plumbing store, and use alot of plumbers tape in the screw parts. Get imaginative.
As far as the cask aspirator goes, the only place I have been able to source them is in Englad, and they are around $60 aussie each, not sure how ya will go getting em to send em out for you. ScotBev is the name of the company I think? Anyway, I am about to head away for work for a few days, but next week, I will do a search of the TechTalk archives (maybe another AHA member can do it instead?) there was recently a post, a week after I bought mine, that described how to make a cheap, home made cask aspirator.
All the best
Trent

I e-mailed the Yank who is using a low pressure gas reg as an aspirator (mentioned in the beer engine thread).
Long story short, it seems to work. just a matter of making the connections work.
I will probably give it a go.

..is this cross posting?

There ya go, Vlad found it.
I will have a look and see if I cant post his directions in the morning. Didnt have to go away for work now (yay! brewing tomorrow!), so can probably do that if I dont get too lazy.
All the best
Trent

Gap