Coopers lager from the can

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrsupraboy

Reaction score
As a beginner I'm new to changing recipes. I already have the can and looking to make the beer and even better taste. What can I do to maximise taste. I need new yeast so suggestions for that to.

And can u please tell me what to do if it's a lot different to doing the can. I appreciate all suggestions thanks

The real basics mate, are temperature control, using a good yeast (Saflager W34/70 at 12c) and using quality ingredients. You can make some pretty good brews if you nail temp control and use good yeast, that's half the battle. There's lots more you can do to improve your process, but nail those first and go from there.

Read the topics around, there are a hundred 'New to brewing' threads to read through which will give you ideas. Welcome!

I agree wholeheartedly with slcmorro. Get temp control right and you eliminate a huge variable.

My personal step change I never went back from was steeping some hops and adding them before adding yeast. Pride of Ringwood is a classic Aussie hop present in most of the major tap beers.

Use a coffee plunger. Fill it with boiling water, add your hops (12-18g) and wait 20 mins. Press the hops down, then add to the liquid to the fermenter. It's an easy way to give it a bit more character.

Well I'm gonna use the canned Coopers lager so what other quality ingredients would I use apart from the yeast suggestion.