Frozen Yeast Stocks?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

~MikE

lvl 23 Comrade
Reaction score
I work in a lab and we typically keep stock samples of cells (bacterial and yeast) at -80C in 10% glycerol (the 10% glycerol prevents damage to the cells when freezing). i don't have a -80C freezer but managed to freeze some us-56 slurry with 10% glycerol, i figure it mightn't be good indefinatly but it should last at least a year. anyway, i was wondering does anyone else freeze yeast as an alternative to using slants?
-mike

I work in a lab and we typically keep stock samples of cells (bacterial and yeast) at -80C in 10% glycerol (the 10% glycerol prevents damage to the cells when freezing). i don't have a -80C freezer but managed to freeze some us-56 slurry with 10% glycerol, i figure it mightn't be good indefinatly but it should last at least a year. anyway, i was wondering does anyone else freeze yeast as an alternative to using slants?
-mike

Howdy Mike,

You might find that yeast are more stable at 4 C in water than -20 C in glycerol. Most -20 C freezers these days cycle on-and-off (frost free). This cycling is detrimental to all living organisms even in glycerol.

cheers

Darren

I am a baker and I have just started experimenting with freezing dough with yeast in it.

First experiment on the weekend worked. I froze the dough on Saturday morning, and pulled the dough out of the freezer on Saturday at 6pm and let it thaw and prove up.

When I came into bake at 2am on Sunday morning the bread had risen to perfection, and I baked it off.

So the yeast survived a short life in the freezer as it was still alive and worked its magic in the dough. Now I will test out what effect long term freezing has on the yeast.

I assume that brewers yeast will behave similarly to bakers yeast.

Barry