My New Esky Manifold

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jakechan

Reaction score
Well, I knew a new manifold had to be made, and I knew I wanted it to be soldered not just pin punched.

So I went out and purchased a MAPP burner and some silver solder rods and taught myself how to do it....cant be too hard I thought, plumbers do it all the time :D
It didnt take me too long to get the hang of it once I worked out the hottest part of the flame, and I found a good tip on the web that said "heat the fitting, not the pipe!". Still, Im no expert but its good enough for this job.

The pics are with my mobile phone, they are not the best but its the easiest way to get them to the PC at the moment.

07022009.jpg

07022009_005_.jpg

07022009_006_.jpg

07022009_007_.jpg
The end section is unsoldered for a quick removal for cleaning. If I find that it comes off during operation I will solder it too but I reckon it should be ok.
The slots were cut using an angle grinder with a 1mm cutting disc @ 15mm part. Much quicker than the old hacksaw.

07022009_004_.jpg

As you will all see this is basically a copy of the one Sammy made, however I took it a step further. I remember his saying that he would have preferred to have the middle tube come straight back to the tap (which makes sense), but it was only when I was finishing up that I thought my soldering was good enough to attempt the modification, otherwise I would have made it differently from the beginning.