Grain Mill?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juzz1981

Reaction score
Hi,

I am just starting out using specialty grains and wish to move to partials very soon, my question is what grain mill to buy that is not cheap rubbish but not something CUB would purchase?

Cheers

There's a lot of threads on the forums comparing the various mills, do a search for millmaster or monster mill that might reward a few threads.

A corona mill is probably the cheapest decent mill you can get, then the monster mills/crankanstein from the US are a little bit more(+shipping)

My advice would be to buy grain pre crushed for your convenience from one of our lovely sponsors, and put a couple of bucks aside each week till you are ready to buy Barley Crusher or Monster Mill, and not be tempted by the inexpensive Marga mill.
I have used, and actually still do use, all three, but BC and MM are awesome, and marga is not.

Then when you move to full mash brewing, you will have a real mill that can whip thru grains in a descent amount of time.

I'm going to put a vote in for crankandstein mills. They seem so underrepresented at AHB. They're a top mill and have features you cant get with a monster mill. I think the marga mill is fine for partials but if you want to go all grain dont get one, it takes far too long to mill your grain with this. When it all comes down to it you can buy a monster mill or crankandstein for about the same price anyway. My 2 cents.

Before buying a mill work out why you need one. The way I see it you have two options (ignoring using a dodgy makeshift mill of course).

1 - Own a decent mill, buy grain in bulk to save money to pay for the mill. This requires more space and equipment for grain storage but allows more flexibility to make recipes at will etc.